Browse the Stylebook by letter


A birth or welcoming ceremony into Islam.

Posted in Islam


The elevated part of the sanctuary in a synagogue or temple where the Torah reader stands and the rabbi leads the service.

Posted in Judaism


A cup used by a priest or clergy member to serve Communion wine.

Posted in Anglican/Episcopalian, Catholicism, Christianity, Orthodoxy, Protestantism

Council for a Parliament of the World’s Religions

The Parliament of the World’s Religions was first held in 1893 to create unprecedented global discussion around faith. The Council for a Parliament of the World’s Religions was formed in 1988 as a host organization to the 1993 centennial celebration, which developed into a series of subsequent conferences in 1999, 2004, 2007 and 2009.

Posted in Interfaith

ecumenical patriarch

The patriarch of Constantinople (modern-day Istanbul) is known as the ecumenical patriarch; he is regarded as “the first among equals.” Capitalize this title if used before a name, but not otherwise.

In the Eastern Catholic and Orthodox churches, a metropolitan heads an ecclesiastical province, a metropolitan see, and ranks below the patriarch. Capitalize metropolitan when used as a title before a name.

Eastern Orthodox archbishops and bishops frequently follow a monastic tradition in which they are known only by a first name. In those cases, repeat the title before the name in subsequent references. Archbishop may be replaced by the Most Rev. on first reference.

Use the Rev. before the name of a priest on first reference; on second reference use only his last name.

Posted in Christianity, Orthodoxy


In Confucianism, jen (pronounced “ren”) is the highest principle and translates to compassion and humanity derived from genuine love.

Posted in Confucianism


In Confucianism, li is a virtue focused on ritual and etiquette; it applies to everything from titles of respect to proper dress and behavior.

Posted in Confucianism


See Passover.

Posted in Judaism

Rig Veda

Of the Hindu scriptures, the Rig Veda is the earliest and among the most revered. See Vedas.

Posted in Hinduism


The prescribed prayer that Muslims offer five times a day to fulfill the second of the Five Pillars of their faith.

Posted in Islam


The Islamic profession of faith that there is no god but God, and Muhammad is God’s prophet. The Shahada is the first of the Five Pillars of Islam.

Posted in Islam


In Judaism, the anniversary of the death of an immediate family member, marked by the lighting of a yahrzeit candle that burns for 24 hours.

Posted in Judaism